• SCHEDULE AMENDED ON 3/3/16

This is the first stab at a weekly schedule. As this is the first time running this course, the instructor reserves the right to adjust the schedule as appropriate for the best of the class.

Week 1 - Course introduction and World #1 - Post-apocalyptic world


Mon, 1/25/2016
In class: Course introduction/wikispaces
For next time-
(1) Create Google account
(2) Create Wikispaces account
(3) Read and complete survey by 1:00 the day of class for "Waiting for the Zephyr" by Tobias Buckell

Wed, 1/27/2016
In class: Aspects of world building; discuss "Waiting for the Zephyr"
For next time-
(1) Read and complete survey by 1:00 the day of class for Carol Emschwiller's "Killers"

Fri, 1/29/2016
In class: Small group/large group discussion of "Killers"
For next time-
(1) Read and complete survey by 1:00 the day of class for Orson Scott Card's "Salvage"

Week 2 - World #1 - Post-apocalyptic world


Mon, 2/1/2016
In class: Small group/large group discussion of "Salvage", people/places/things
For next time-
(1) Read and complete survey by 1:00 the day of class for David Grigg's "Song Before Sunset"

Wed, 2/3/2016
In class: Small group/large group discussion of "Song Before Sunset", people/places/things
For next time-
(1) Read and complete survey by 1:00 the day of class for Catherine Wells's "Artie's Angels"

Fri, 2/5/2016
In class: Small group/large group discussion of "Artie's Angels", people/places/things
For next time-
(1) View and complete survey by 1:00 the day of class for "Mad Max: Fury Road"

Week 3 - World #1 - Post-apocalyptic world


Mon, 2/8/2016
In class: Small group/large group discussion of "Mad Max:Fury Road", people/places/things

Wed, 2/10/2016
In class: World building and metanarrative discussion
For next time-
(1) Begin writing world metanarrative

Fri, 2/12/2016
In class: Discussion and writing of metanarrative
For next time-
(1) CFinish writing world metanarrative

Week 4 World #1 - Post-apocalyptic world


Mon, 2/15/2016, Items and Locations
In class: Receive Item and Location prompts
For next time- Create Items and Locations

Wed, 2/17/2016, Characters
In class: Receive Character prompts
For next time-Create Characters

Fri, 2/19/2016, Story set up
In class: Receive story prompt, vignette and critique discussion
For next time- Post vignette #1


Week 5 - World #1 - Post-apocalyptic world and Begin World #2

Mon, 2/22/2016, In-class workshop
In class: Workshop random vignettes
For next time- Complete critiques on two assigned vignettes posted to the critique page

Wed, 2/24/2016, Workshop
In class: Small group workshop (groups of 4)
For next time- Read and complete survey for Genre 2 story #1

Fri, 2/26/2016, Genre A story #1
In class: Discussion of Genre A story #1
For next time- Read and complete survey for Genre 2 story #2


Week 6 - World #1

Mon, 2/29/2016,
Fiction writing & critique

Wed, 3/2/2016,
Fiction writing & critique

Fri, 3/4/2016
Fiction writing & critique
For next time- Write vignette #2

Week 7 - World #1

Mon, 3/7/2016,
Fiction writing & critique


Wed, 3/9/2016,
Fiction writing & critique
For next time- Read The Culture Archivist and complete the Culture Archivist Survey

Fri, 3/11/2016, Characters
In class: Discuss The Culture Archivist
For next time-Read Golubash (Wine-Blood-War-Story) and complete the Golubash Survey


Week 8 - World #2

Mon, 3/14/2016,
In classL Discuss Golubash
For next time- Read My She and complete the My She Survey

Wed, 3/16/2016
In class: Discuss My She
For next time-Read Carthago Delenda Est and complete the Carthago Survey

Fri, 3/18/2016, Workshop
In class: Discuss Carthago
For next time--Prepare for deep space world building post-break


Week 9 - SPRING BREAK

Mon, 3/21/2016,
In class: Spring break
For next time- Spring break

Wed, 3/23/2016,
In class: Spring break
For next time- Spring break

Fri, 3/25/2016,
In class: Spring break
For next time- Read and complete survey for Genre B story #1

Week 10 World #2


Mon, 3/28/2016,
In class: Discuss Genre 3 story #1
For next time- Read and complete survey for Genre 3 story #2

Wed, 3/30/2016,
In class: Discuss Genre 3 story #2
For next time- Read and complete survey for Genre 3 story #3

Fri, 4/01/2016,
In class: Discuss Genre 3 story #3
For next time-Prep for world building


Week 11 - World #2

Mon, 4/04/2016, World building and metanarrative
In class: World building and metanarrative
For next time- Begin writing metanarrative

Wed, 4/06/2016, Metanarrative
In class: Continue discussing and writing metanarrative
For next time- Finish metanarrative

Fri, 4/08/2016, Items and Locations
In class: Receive prompts for Items and Locations
For next time- Complete Items and Locations


Week 12 - World #2

Mon, 4/11/2016, Metanarrative
In class: Work on metanarrative
For next time: Post most of metanarrative for each section

Wed, 4/13/2016, Finish metanarrative
In class: Work on metanarrative, resolve discrepancies
For next time: 100% finished with metanarrative

Fri, 4/15/2016, Locations and Items
In class: Assignment of random Locations and Items
For next time: Complete at least Locations x 1 and Items x 1

Week 13 - World #2

Mon, 4/18/2016, Locations and items
In class: Discuss Locations and Items
For next time: Finish Locations x 2 and Items x 2

Wed, 4/20/2016, Characters
In class: Assignment of random character traits
For next time: Complete at least Character x 3 using these categories

Fri, 4/22/2016, Characters
In class: Assignment of items, locations, and characters
For next time: Vignette #3


Week 14 - World #2

Mon, 4/25/2016, Critique Session
In class: Critique session, assigned two critiques
For next time: Complete assigned critique x #1

Wed, 4/27/2016, Critique Session
In class: Critique session, assigned two critiques
For next time: Complete assigned critique x #2

Fri, 4/29/2016, Critique session
In class: Critique session, assigned two critiques
For next time: Write Vignette #4 and Sign up for final group


Week 15 - World #2 and Final Projects

Mon, 5/02/2016, Critique Session
In class: Critique session, assigned two critiques
For next time: Sign up for final group

Wed, 5/04/2016, Final project: Groups and Initial World Building

Fri, 5/06/2016,
NO CLASS SESSION - Work in small groups to develop world


Week 16 - Final Project week

Meet in class at normally scheduled time and location to work in small groups.
Mon, 5/09/2016,
Wed, 5/11/2016,
Fri, 5/13/2016,